ATML-Ordinary Diff. Equations (2011)

Venue:  M. S. University of Baroda, Vadodara
Dates: 2 Jun - 15 Junl, 2011


Convener(s) Speakers, Syllabus and Time table Applicants/Participants


School Convener(s)

Name Tarun Das
Mailing Address Department of Mathematics, Faculty of Science
The M. S. University of Baroda,
Vadodara - 390002


Speakers and Syllabus 



Confirmed Speakers:

  • S. Baskar, IIT Bombay
  • Tarun Das, The M. S. University of Baroda
  • P. S. Datti, TIFR Bangalore
  • A. S. Vasudeva Murthy, TIFR Bangalore
  • V. Raghavendra, IIT Kanpur
  • V. O. Thomas, The M. S. University of Baroda
  • Mythily Ramaswamy TIFR Bangalore
  • K Sandeep, TIFR Bangalore
  • Hari Kataria, The M.S. University of Baroda
  • B. Rai, University of Allahabad

Speakers: Unity of Mathematics

  • S G Dani, TIFR, Mumbai
  • Dinesh Singh, University of Delhi

Course Associates:

  • Rasmita Kar, IIT Kanpur
  • Sejal Shah, The M. S. University of Baroda

Proposed Syllabus

Linear systems: Basic Matrix Theory, Matrix Functions, Differentiation and Integration of Matrix Functions, Diagonalization, Exponentials of Operators, The Fundamental Theorem of Linear Systems, Linear Systems in R2 , Solving Linear Systems Using Eigen Values and Eigen Vectors, Distinct Real Eigen Values, Complex Eigen Values, Repeated Eigen Values, Jordan Forms, Phase Plane and Linear Systems, Stability Theory, Non Homogeneous Linear Systems.

Non-linear systems- Local Theory: Some Preliminary Concepts and Definitions, The Fundamental Existence-Uniqueness Theorem, Dependance on Initial Conditions and Parameters, The Maximal Interval of Existence, The Flow Defined by a Differential Equation, Linearization, The Stable Manifold Theorem, The Hartman-Grobman Theorem, Stability and Liapunov Functions, Saddles, Nodes, Foci and Centers, Nonhyperbolic Critical Points in R2 , Center Manifold Theory, Normal Form Theory, Gradient and Hamiltonian Systems.


  1. Differential Equations and Dynamical Systems (3rd Edition) by Lawrence Perko, Springer.
  2. Elementary Differential Equations and Boundary Value Problems (7th Edition) by William E. Boyce and Richard C DiPrima, John Wiley and Sons Inc.
  3. Theory of Ordinary Differential Equations by Earl A. Coddington and Norman Levinson, Tata McGraw Hill Publishing Comp.Ltd.

Selected Applicants


Sr. No. Name Affiliation
1 Akhil Mittal Sardar Vallabhbhai Institute of Technology, Vasad
2 Amit Kumar Singh University of Allahabad, Allahabad
3 Anand Kumar Central University of Rajasthan, Kishangarh
4 Anisa Mohmad Husen Chorwadwala IISER, Pune
5 Anuj Kumar Jhankal Birla Institute of Technology, Mersa
6 Bapan Ghosh Bengal Engineering and Science University, Shibpur
7 Dharitri Manpritsinh Rathod The M. S. University of Baroda, Vadodara
8 Dhaval Thakkar The M. S. University of Baroda, Vadodara
9 Diddi Kumaraswamy Christu Jyoti Institute of Technology & Science,Yeshwanthapur, Jangaon
10 Heramb Balakrishna Aiya St. Xaviers College of Arts, Science And Commerce, Mapusa - Goa
11 Jitendra Singh Institute of Technology, Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
12 Jyoti Rajaram Thorwe Shivaji University, Kolhapur
13 Krihna Basappa Chavaraddi Government First Grade College, Yellpur
14 Mahesh K B Government First Grade College, Mangalore
15 Nishant Parmar The M. S. University of Baroda, Vadodara
16 Pabitra Debnath St. Xavier's College, Kolkata
17 Pankajini Tripathy KMBB College of Engineering and Technology, Orissa
18 Pasupula Rami Reddy University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
19 Piyush Patel The M. S. University of Baroda, Vadodara
20 Prabhugouda Mallanagouda Patil JSS's Banashankari Arts, Commerce amd Shanti, Kumar Gubbi Science College, Dharwad
21 Prakash Uttam Sansare Birla College of Arts, Science and Commerce, Kalyan
22 Pramod Machindra Dhakane S.B.E.S College of Science, Aurangabad
23 Preeti Jain Banasthali University, Banasthali
24 Saurabh Chandra Maury University of Allahabad, Allahabad
25 Saurabh Kumar Agrawal Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi
26 Sharan Gopal University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad
27 Shyam Sunder Iyer National Institute of Technology, Thiruchirappalli
28 Snehal Suryakant Mitragotri Shivaji University, Kolhapur
29 Umesh Ramesh Swami College of Engineering Pune, Pune
30 Veeararaghan Piramanantham Bharathidasan University,Tiruchirappalli

How to reach

How to reach the venue:

Vadodara (also known as Baroda) is well connected by rail to all the major metros in the country including Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore and Hyderabad. Vadodara is also well connected to Mumbai and Delhi by air.

Ahmedabad is one of the important cities in western India. It is about 110 Kilometers from Vadodara and is very well connected to Vadodara through roadways as well as railways.

Department of Mathematics, Faculty of Science is just at a walking distance from the railway station and the bus station. University guest house and hostel are within one kilometer range from the railway station and bus stand. Vadodara airport is about 6 kms from the department.