ATMW Geometric Group Theory (2011)

Venue: Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali
Dates: 16 May - 21 May, 2011


Convener(s) Speakers, Syllabus and Time table Applicants/Participants


School Convener(s)

Name Amit Kulshrestha Inder Bir S. Passi
Mailing Address Indian Institute of Science Education and Research
MGSIPA Complex, Sector 26,
Chandigarh - 160 019.
Indian Institute of Science Education and Research
MGSIPA Complex, Sector 26,
Chandigarh - 160 019.


Speakers and Syllabus 

Speakers and Syllabus

Speaker Lectures Detailed Syllabus
Professor Valeriy Bardakov 6 Braids and Braid Gropus, Knots and links, Homomogical Representation of Braid Groups (First thre chapters of 'Braid Groups' by Kassel and Turaev (GTM 247, Springer).
Mathematics Faculty at IISER Mohali and Professor Andrei Vesnin 6 + 6 Asymptotic Group Theory: Two lectures series, one each on Geometric and Analytic proof of Gromov's Theorem on polynomial growth of groups and further recent developments in this direction.


Details of Guest Lectures

Speaker Affiliation Detailed Syllabus
Professor N.S.N. Sastry Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore TBA
Professor M.S. Raghunathan Tata Institute of Fundamental Research. Mumbai TBA
Professor Anant R. Shastri Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai TBA
Professor B. Sury* Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore TBA
Professor Siddhartha Gadgil Indian Institutte of Science, Bangalore TBA
Professor T. N.Venkataramana Tata Institute of Fundamental Research. Mumbai TBA

* Yet to confirm

Selected Applicants

Selected Participants

Sr.No Name Affiliation
1 Abhijit Pal RBC College, West Bengal
2 Ajay Kumar IISER Mohali
3 Ali Akbar Kamaludheen Government College, Chittut, Palakkad
4 B. Jayaram Kalasalingam University
5 Bhavya Chauhan IIT Delhi
6 Bipul Sharma M. C. College, Barpeta, Assam
7 Biswajit Ransingh NIT Rourkela
8 Brajesh Sharma University of Allahabad
9 Debabrata Adhikari IIT Patna
10 Dilpreet Kaur IISER Mohali
11 Gunjan Khurana Indraprastha College, Delhi
12 Harpreet Grover GNDU, Amritsar
13 Kamalaksha Mahatab IMSc, Chennai
14 M Sundarakannan Kalasalingam University
15 Mubeena T. IMSc Chennai
16 P. Chella Pandian Bharathidasan University
17 Parvesh Kumari IIT Delhi
18 Preetinder Singh Sandhu IISER Mohali
19 Rajat Kanti Nath HRI, Allahabad
20 Rangrao Bhamare New Arts, Commerce and Science College, Ahmednagar
21 Riyas P. Mustafa Sir Syed College, Taliparamba, Kerala
22 Shalini Gupta Panjabi Univeristy Patiala & IISER Mohali
23 Shelly Garg IISER Mohali
24 Shiv Parsad IISER Mohali
25 Shubhabrata Das ISI Kolkata
26 Sonica Anand IISER Mohali
27 Soumen Sarkar ISI Kolkata
28 Swagata Sarkar ISI Kolkata
29 Sweta Mishra IIT Delhi
30 Vandana Rajpal Mata Sundari College, Delhi

Selected candidates may book their train tickets to Chandigarh/Mohali (SAS Nagar).
An e-mail invitation will be sent soon to all the selected candidates.

How to reach the venue: IISER MOHALI


  1. By Air:Arrive at Chandigarh airport. There are lots of connecting flights from Delhi/Mumbai to to Chandigarh.
  2. By Train:Nearest railway stations are
    • Chandigarh (Station Code: CDG, 14 Km from IISER)
    • Ambala (Station Code: UMB, 50 Km from IISER)
    • Mohali (Station Code: SASN, 1 Km from IISER): There are very few connections to Mohali. One useful connection from Delhi is Una Jan-Shatabdi (Train No. 12057)
  3. From Airport/Chandigarh Railway station to IISER: Take a Radio taxi (phone numbers: 0172-4141414, 0172-4646464) to Phase-IX, Mohali. Ask the driver to locate the Philips factory (marked by flag B in pictures). On reaching Philips, keep moving in the same direction till you hit a dead end near a nala. From there you take a right turn. After 100 meters IISER is at your left. Distance between Philips and IISER is about 1 Km, between Airport and IISER is about 9 Kms and between Chandigarh Railway station and IISER is about 15 Kms. Mohali Railway station (called Sahibzada Ajit Singh Nagar station or SAS Nagar station) is just 1 km from IISER.