ATMW Computational Algebraic Geometry (2014)

Venue: Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology, Trivandrum, Kerala
Dates: 9th to 13th Feb, 2014


Convener(s) Speakers, Syllabus and Time table Applicants/Participants


School Convener(s)

Name Prosenjit Das W. Decker Ravi Rao
Mailing Address Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology
Valiamala P.O,Trivandrum
695-547, India.
University of Kaiserslautern,
Tata Institute of Fundamental Research,
Dr. Homi Bhabha Road,Navy Nagar,
Mumbai 400-005,India


Speakers and Syllabus 

There will be three main themes covered in this workshop:

  •  Resolution of singularities

Speaker: Prof. Gerhard Pfister, University of Kaiserslautern
Abstract : Click here to download the details

  • Equivariant coherent sheaf cohomology

Speaker: Prof. Mohamed Barakat, University of Kaiserslautern
Abstract : Click here to download the details

  • Intersection theory

Speaker: Prof. Wolfram Decker
Abstract : Click here to download the details


Invited speakers

1. Prof. Mohamed Barakat, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany.

2. Prof. G. Pfister, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany.

3. Prof. Wolfram Decker, University of Kaiserslautern, Germany.

Time Table

Time Sun
Feb 9

Feb 10

Feb 12


10.00 - 11.00 MB MB MB MB MB  
11.00 - 11.30 B    R   U   N   C    H  
11.30 - 12.30 GP GP GP GP GP  
12.30 - 02.00 L    U    N    C    H  
02.00 - 03.00 WD WD WD WD WD  
03.00 - 03.30 T    E    A  
03.30 - 04.30 Tut Tut Tut Tut Tut  
04.30 - 06.30 CT CT CT CT CT  
  • MB M. Barakat Equivariant coherent sheaf cohomology
    GP G. Pfister Resolution of singularities
    WD W. Decker Intersection theory
    HS H. Schonemann Tutorials
    AS A. Steenpass Tutorials
    CT MB-WD-GP Computer Tutorials


Selected Applicants


Sr. SID Name Gender Affiliation State Position in College/ University. University/ Institute M.Sc./ M.A. Year of Passing M.Sc./ M.A Ph.D. Degree Date
1 4881 Mr. Arindam  Dey Male IIT Guwahati Assam PhD Scholar M.Sc. from Indian Institute of Technology Madras 2011 -
2 4864 Ms Kumari Saloni   Female IIT Guwahati Assam Research Scholar IIT Guwahati M.Sc. 2010 -
3 4904 Mr. Sourav  Das Male Chennai Mathematical Institute Tamil Nadu PhD IIT Guwahati 2012 -
4 4691 Mr Prasant  Singh Male IIT Bombay Maharashtra PhD BHU 2010  -
5 4712 Ms. Smita Prangya Praharaj Female University of Mumbai - Department of Atomic Energy Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences(UM-DAE CEBS) Maharashtra Integrated M.Sc Student UM-DAE CEntre for Excellence in Basic Sciences Appeared/ Awaiting Result  -
6 4698 Mr. Naveen  Kumar Male UM-DAE-Centre For Excellence In Basic Sciences  Maharashtra MSc. Student UM-DAE-CEBS Appeared/ Awaiting Result  -
7 4658 Mr. Rajiv  Kumar Male IIT Bombay Maharashtra Research Scholar Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar 2009  -
8 4716 Mr Plawan  Das Male UM-DAE Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences (CBS) Maharashtra Int- MSc student (5th yr) UM-DAE Centre for Excellence in Basic Sciences (CBS) Appeared/ Awaiting Result  -
9 4704 Mr. Ram  Shila Male UM-DAE- Centre for Excellence In Basic Sciences Maharashtra MSc. Student UM-DAE-CEBS Appeared/ Awaiting Result  -
10 4768 Mr. Bibekananda  Mishra Male Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata West Bengal JRF University of Warwick, UK Appeared/ Awaiting Result  -
11 4865 Mr. Dipankar  Ghosh Male IIT Bombay Maharashtra PhD IIT Guwahati 2011  -
12 4892 Mr Susobhan  Mazumdar Male Indian Institute of Technology, Madras Tamil Nadu Senior Research Scholar Indian Institute of Technology, Madras 2010  -
13 4757 Ms Ambily  A A Female Indian Statistical Institute Karnataka PhD student Cochin University of Science and Technology, Kerala 2007  -
14 4703 Mr. Joydip  Saha Male Rama Krishna Mission Vivekananda University,Belur. West Bengal PhD student RKMVU 2010  -
15 4818 Mr. Husney Parvez Sarwar Male IIT Bombay Maharashtra Ph.D. IIT Guwahati 2010  -
16 4711 Ms Jai  Laxmi Female IIT Bombay Maharashtra PhD University of Hyderabad 2012  -
17 4839 Ms. Parangama  Sarkar Female IIT Bombay Maharashtra PhD IIT Madras 2011  -
18 4885 Mr. Anjan  Gupta Male Tata Institute of Fundamental Research Maharashtra PhD ISI Kolkata 2008  -
19 4545 Mr Bhaskara Rao  Beta Male Pondicherry University Pondicherry Research Scholar Pondicherry university 2009  -
20 4791 Mr. Athimoolam  Ranganathan Male Pondicherry Engineering College Pondicherry Ph.D  Student Thiruvalluvar University 2009  -
21 4661 Mr. Anupam Chaudhuri Male Northeastern University (Boston) Boston student Northeastern University (Boston) 2011 -
22   Mandira Mondal Female TIFR, Mumbai Mumbi PhD student      
Registered seniors :
22 4620 Dr. Indranath  Sengupta Male Department Of Mathematics, Jadavpur University West Bengal Associate Professor Jadavpur University 1993 5 Mar 2001
23 4884 Dr. Ananthnarayan  Harihraran Male IIT Bombay Maharashtra Assistant Professor IIT Bombay 2001 1 Aug 2009
24 4647 Dr. Vinay  Wagh Male IIT Guwahati Assam Assistant Professor University of Pune 2000 1 Mar 2007
25 4793 Dr. Ratnik  Gandhi Male Tel Aviv University, Israel Israel Postdoc   2005 1 Apr 2011
26 4534 Dr. Selby  Jose Male Institute of Science Maharashtra Associate Professor Pune University 1991 22 Feb 2008
27 4520 Dr. Prosenjit  Das Male IIST Kerala Asst. Prof. BU 2004 1 Sep 2010
28 4766 Dr. Ramakrishna  Nanduri Male University of Genova Genova, Italy INdAM-Marie Curie Post Doctoral Fellow University of Hyderabad 2005 8 Nov 2011
Invited seniors and resource persons :
1 - Balwant Singh              
2 - Sudhir Ghorpade              
3 - Ravi A. Rao              
4 - Wolfram Decker              
5 - Mohamed Barakat              
6 - Gerhard Pfister              
7 - H. Schonemann              
8 - A. Steenpas              
9 - M. Kreuzer              
10 - Dilip Patil              
11 4748 Prof. K N Raghavan Male Institute of Mathematical Sciences Tamil Nadu Professor IIT Delhi 1985 15 Aug 1991
Waiting List:         
1 4858 Mr. Neeraj  Kumar Male Universita di Genova Genova, Italy PhD Student University of Hyderabad 2008  -
2 - Pratyusha Chattopadhyay Female I.S.I. Bangalore Karmataka Inspire Faculty University of Hyderabad 2004 2010


How to reach

How to reach IIST, Trivandrum.
The IIST campus is located at Valiamala and is adjacent to the LPSC Valiamala campus of  ISRO. Landmarks near the campus are "Valiamala ISRO Junction Bus Stop" and "Valiamala 16 Stone Bus Stop". The campus is 25km far from Trivandrum Central Railway Station, 27km far from the international airport terminal of Trivandrum and 31km far from domestic airport terminal of Trivandrum .

To reach IIST from airport or railway station one may take either auto rickshaw or taxi. It is always better to book prepaid auto rickshaw or taxi. From airport prepaid taxis are available and from central railway station prepaid auto rickshaws are available. It may happen that auto driver or taxi driver does not know the exact location of IIST; but, for sure, they will know "Valiamala ISRO Junction" and "Valiamala 16 Stone Bus Stop". After reaching "Valiamala ISRO Junction" take a diversion towards right, a comparatively narrow road; IIST is approximately 1.5 km far from this junction.

Click here for map and directions