

Advanced Training in Mathematics Schools

Supported by National Board for Higher Mathematics

Workshop on Operator Theory

Venue: Institute for Mathematics and its Applications(IMA), Bhubaneswar

2009

Conveners: Gadadhar Misra and S. Pattanayak

Brief Description of ATM Schools

Advanced Training in Mathematics (ATM) Schools are a joint effort of more than 50 active researchers across the country with support from the National Board for Higher Mathematics. The programmes are conducted in reputed mathematics departments in Summer and Winter each year. In these Schools, the emphasis will be on problems solving and on highlighting inter-relations of basic subjects in mathematics. The schools are offered mainly for Ph.D. students and lecturers.

Workshop on Operator Theory

This will be an Instructional Workshop on Operator theory and its applications to Physics, Engineering and other areas of Mathematics. An attempt will be made to bring out the unity among diverse areas of Analysis. The Workshop will be aimed at students and young researchers who have completed a basic course in Functional Analysis as well as Complex Analysis.

Eligibility for Participation

The workshop will admit 25 students in their first and second years of Ph.D. programme, Postdoctoral fellows and some college/university teachers.

Financial Support

Selected participants will be paid III-AC return train fare from their place of work/home town to the venue by shortest route and provided with accommodation and local hospitality.

Resource persons		
Tirthankar Bhattacharyya	IISc, Bangalore	
Michael Dritschel	University of	
	Newcastle upon Tyne, UK	
M. Krishna	IMSc. Chennai	
Gadadhar Misra	IISc, Bangalore	
Kalyan Sinha	JNCASR, Bangalore	

How to Apply

The syllabus, application form and other information about the programme is available on the website:

http://www.bprim.org/atm

Applications may also be made on plain paper, giving the following information:

Name, Date of Birth, Age, Gender, Institute/Department, Areas of interest, Address for correspondence, email address, City, State, Pincode, Academic Record: B.Sc./M.Sc. with names of the Institutes. These should be attested by Head/Principal of the institute.

Completed application forms should reach

Prof. Gadadhar Misra Coordinator, ATMW in Operator Theory Department of Mathematics Indian Institute of Science Bangalore 560012 e-mail: *gm@math.iisc.ernet.in* Phone: (O) 0 80 2293 2712 Fax:0 80 2360 0146

by **Monday**, **5th Oct.**, **2009.** The applicants are encouraged to send an advance application by e-mail.

List of selected candidates will be posted on the ATM School website on **Friday**, **9th Oct.**, **2009**.

National Coordinating Committee		
Director	R. S. Kulkarni	IIT Bombay
Secretary	J. K. Verma	IIT Bombay
Members	S. D. Adhikari	HRI, Allahabad
	Satya Deo	HRI, Allahabad
	S. A. Katre	Pune U., Pune
	Shobha Madan	IIT Kanpur
	I. B. S. Passi	Panjab U., Chandigarh
	R. A. Rao	TIFR, Mumbai