

Advanced Training in Mathematics Schools

Supported by National Board for Higher Mathematics

Eighth Annual Foundation School-I (AFS-I)

Venue: Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER), Pune

5th December - 31st December 2011 Conveners: Rama Mishra, S. A. Katre

Brief Description of ATM Schools

Advanced Training in Mathematics (ATM) Schools are a joint effort of a large number of mathematicians in the country for training mathematics research scholars and teachers with generous support from the National Board for Higher Mathematics. The programmes are conducted in reputed mathematics departments in Summer and Winter each year. In these Schools, the emphasis is on problems solving and on understanding inter-relations of basic subjects in mathematics. At the initial stage, ATM Schools consist of three Annual Foundation Schools (AFS I, II & III) in algebra, analysis, and topology. At a later stage, Advanced Instructional Schools (AIS) and workshops (ATMW) in all major areas are organised. Several advanced instructional schools (ATML) are organized each year exclusively for young lecturers in colleges and universities.

Eighth Annual Foundation School, Part I

Basic knowledge in algebra, analysis, and topology forms the core of all advanced instructional schools to be organized in the ATM programme. The objectives of the Annual Foundation Schools are to bring students with diverse backgrounds up to a common level and to identify those who are fit for further training. Any student who wishes to attend the Advanced Instructional Schools is encouraged to enrol in the Annual Foundation Schools. In this Foundation School, courses of lectures will cover basic topics in algebra, analysis and topology. There will also be two lecture series entitled Unity of Mathematics Lectures which will cover topics highlighting fundamental unity among various branches of mathematics.

Resource persons

Algebra	Real Analysis	Differential Topology
S. M. Bhatwadekar	H. Bhate	Aniruddha Naolekar
S. R. Ghorpade	Sameer Chavan	Rama Mishra
Gurmeet K. Bakshi	V. M. Sholapurkar	Anita Naolekar
S. A. Katre	Debraj Chakraborty	

Unity of Mathematics Lectures

to be announced

Financial Support

Selected participants will be paid III-AC return train fare from their place of work/home town to the venue by shortest route and provided with accommodation and local hospitality.

Eligibility for participation

The School will admit 30 students in their first and second years of Ph.D. programme, a few bright students of M.Sc. (II year) and a few young university lecturers and college teachers. A participant who has attended an AFS-I before will not be allowed to attend this school.

How to Apply

The syllabus, applications form and other information about the programme is available on the website:

www.atmschools.org/2011

Online applications may be done from the site. The applicant will get a copy of the application form at his email address. Attested hard copy of the application form is to be sent to the coordinator. Applications may also be made on plain paper, giving the following information: Name, Date of Birth, Age, Gender, Institute/Department, Areas of interest, Address for correspondence, email address, Phone No., City, State, Pincode, Academic Record: B.Sc./M.Sc./ with names of the Institutes, email addresses of 2 recommending teachers, any other information. These should be attested by Head/Principal of the institute.

Completed application forms should reach

Dr. Rama Mishra

Coordinator, AFS-I

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER),

First floor, Central Tower, Sai Trinity Building,

Garware Circle, Sutarwadi, Pashan, PUNE,

Maharashtra 411021, India

e-mail: r.mishra@iiserpune.ac.in Fax: 91-20-2590 8186

Phone: (M) +91 9225631894, (Off.) 020-25908096

Completed application forms should reach by Wednesday, 28th September, 2011. List of selected candidates will be posted on the website of ATM Schools on Tuesday, 4th October, 2011.

NBHM Committee for the ATM Programme:

- J. K. Verma (Convener) (IITB), S. A. Katre (U. of Pune),
- S. Kesavan (IMSc), Shobha Madan (IITK), N. Nitsure (TIFR)