MPLW Recent developments in 3-manifold theory (2012)


Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Dates: 25th - 29th June, 2012.


Convener(s) Speakers, Syllabus and Time table Applicants/Participants


School Convener(s)

Name Siddhartha Gadgil
Mailing Address ---


Speakers and Syllabus 

About the Speaker :

 Professor David GabaiDavid Gabai is  a professor at Princeton University.Focused on low-dimensional topology and hyperbolic geometry, he is a leading researcher in those subjects. David Gabai received his S.B. degree from the MIT in 1976 and his Ph.D. from Princeton in 1980 under the direction of William Thurston. During his Ph.D., he obtained foundational results on the foliations of 3-manifolds; these results are the basis of many research areas in geometric topology now. After positions at Harvard and U Penn, he spent most of the years between 1986–2001 at Caltech, and has been at Princeton University since 2001. In 2004, David Gabai was awarded the Oswald Veblen Prize in Geometry which is one of the most prestigious prizes in geometric topology, given every 3 years by the American Mathematical Society. In 2011, he was elected to the United States National Academy of Sciences.David Gabai has played a key role in the field of topology of 3-manifolds in the last 3 decades. Some of the foundational results he and his collaborators have proved are as follows: Existence of

taut foliation in 3-manifolds, Property R Conjecture, foundation of essential laminations, Seifert fiber space conjecture, rigidity of homotopy hyperbolic 3-manifolds, weak hyperbolization for 3-manifolds with genuine lamination, Smale Conjecture for hyperbolic 3-manifolds,Marden's Tameness Conjecture, Weeks's manifold being the minimum volume closed hyperbolic 3-manifold.


Abstract :

 The first lecture will be accessible to a general audience.It will survey many of the spectacular results that have been obtained in 3-dimensional topology and geometry within the last 10 years.  Lectures 2-5 will focus on the works of Agol, Wise and Kahn-Markovic that give a proof of the virtual Haken conjecture.


Link to school


Selected Applicants

List of selected applicants.

Sr. SID Full Name Gender Affiliation State Position in College/University
1 1584 Dr. Abhijit Pal M ISI Kolkata. West Bengal Research Scholar
2 1585 Mr. Shubhabrata Das M ISI Kolkata. West Bengal Research Scholar
3 1586 Mr. Apurba Das M ISI Kolkata. West Bengal JRF
4 1587 Mr Samik Basu M -- West Bengal --
5 1588 Dr. Jitendra Kumar Maitra M R.D. University, Jabalpur. Madhya Pradesh Research Scholar
6 1589 Dr. Jayanathan AJ M -- Goa --
7 1592 Mr Sanjay Kumar Singh M School of Math,TIFR Maharastra Research Scholar
8 1595 Mr. Shiv Parsad M IISER Mohali Punjab Research Scholar
9 1596 Mr. Surojit Ghosh M -- West Bengal --
10 1597 Mrs. Mubeena T F IMSc,
Tamilnadu Graduate student
11 1599 Dr. Swagata Sarkar F ISI Kolkata. West Bengal Research Scholar
12 1601 Prof. Rekha Santhanam F IIT Kanpur Uttar Pradesh --


How to reach