ISL Group Theory (2013)

Venue:  Department of Mathematics, University of Delhi
Dates: 3rd - 15th June, 2013


Convener(s) Speakers, Syllabus and Time table Applicants/Participants


School Convener(s)

Name Kanchan Joshi Mukund Madhav Mishra 
Atul Gaur
Mailing Address Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics
University of Delhi,
Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics
Hans Raj College
University of Delhi
Assistant Professor
Department of Mathematics
University of Delhi,


Speakers and Syllabus 


Proposed Syllabus

Sr. Speaker Lectures Topic
1 Manoj Kumar Yadav (MKY) 6 Groups, subgroups, homomorphisms, normal subgroups, quotient groups, cyclic groups, symmetry of plane figures, Direct and semidirect product of groups, internal direct products of normal subgroups.
2 Siddhartha Sarkar (SS) 6

Group actions and permutation representations, groups acting on themselves by left multiplication—Cayley’s theorem, groups acting on themselves by conjugation—the class equation, Sylow's theory, simplicity of An, simplicity of PSLN(q).

3 I B S Passi (IBS) 6 Groups as a set of generators and relators, free groups, free product of groups, amalgams, Seifert Van Kampen theorem, Jordan-Holder Theorem,  solvable groups, nilpotent groups, p-groups.
4 B. Sury (BS) 6 Symmetric groups, Sam Lloyd puzzle and Rubik cube problem, Invariant factor theorem for finitely generated modules over Euclidean domains, Introduction to Linear groups: GLn , SOn , SUn , SLn , Spn  , Reflection groups, Canonical forms
5 Anupam Kumar Singh (AKS) 6 Group representations, representation of finite groups, complete reducibility, Schur's Lemma, representations of S3, characters, group algebra and regular representations, orthonormality of characters of irreducible representations, representations of S3 and A4.
6 Shripad M Garge (SMG) 6 Representations of linear groups: SO3 , SU3 , exponential map, Lie algebra of a linear group.


Special Lectures:

  1. Prof Ravi S Kulkarni, IIT Bombay (Topic to be announced).
  2. Siddhartha Sarkar, IISER Bhopal (On applications of GAP).
  3. Prof. J B Srivastava, IIT Delhi (Topic to be announced).

Course Associates:

  1. Kanchan Joshi, DU.
  2. Anupama Panigrahi, DU.
  3. I. Atul Gaur, DU.
  4. M. M. Mishra, DU.

Recommended Texts:

  1. Artin, Algebra.
  2. Dummit and Foote, Abstract algebra.
  3. Alperin and Bell, Groups and representations.
  4. Grove and Benson, Classical groups and geometric algebra.
  5. Fulton, Representation theory: A first course.
  6. Rotman, An introduction to the theory of groups.
  7. Magnus et. al., Combinatorial group theory.


Selected Applicants


List of selected candidates Outstation.


  • The selected participants are requested to confirm their participation by 20th January, 2013 for booking accommodation.
  • Confirmation mail should be sent to mukund.math at
  • Travel by 3rd AC Train fare is allowed to the participants.


Sr. SID Full Name Age

Affiliation State Position in College/ University University/ Institute M.Sc./M.A. Year of Passing M.Sc./ M.A Ph.D. Degree Date
1 2848 Mr. Piyush  Goyal 23M S.C.D. Govt College for Boys, Ludhiana Punjab Lecturer Panjab University, Chandigarh 2011  
2 2854 Dr. Vishnu Narayan Mishra 32M S.V. National Institute of Technology, Surat - 395007 (Gujarat). Gujarat Assistant Professor Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia Avadh University, Faizabad (U.P.) 2002 30 Jul 2007
3 2884 Prof. Rashmi  Rani 26F A.S.College for Women,Khanna Punjab Assistant Professor SCD Govt.College, Ludhiana, Panjab Uni. Chandigarh. 2009  
4 2894 Dr Bipul  Sarma 37M MC College, Barpeta Assam Assistant Professor Gauhati University,  MA 1999 19 Aug 2006
5 2916 Mr Vijender  Challa 32M

Sreenidhi Institute Of Science And Technology

Andhra Pradesh Asst. Professor Osmania University/ M.Sc 2003  
6 3011 Mr Irshad Ahmad Sheikh 29M NIT  Srinagar Jammu and Kashmir Scholar M.Sc 2008  
7 3033 Ms. Snehal Suryakant Mitragotri 28F Shivaji University,Kolhapur Maharashtra Asst. Prof. Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee 2009  
8 3057 Mr. Aryan Kanjibhai Patel 30M

M.N.College, Visnagar

Gujarat Assistant Professor Sardar Patel University, Vallabh Vidyanagar 2006  
9 3127 Mr Mahesh Kumar N 32M Rani Channamma University Karnataka Asst.Prof University of Mysore 2004  
10 3223 Ms Meenakshi  Kansal 26F

St. Francis College

Andhra Pradesh Lecturer M.Sc 2008  
11 3279 Dr. Anu  Sirohi 32F

Bharat Institute Of Technology

Uttar Pradesh Assistant Professor A.M.U, Aligarh 2001 1 Jan 2006
12 3317 Mr. Aswin Kumar Rauta 32M SKCG College Orissa Jr.Lecturer Berhampur University 2003  
13 3328 Dr. Manoj Kumar Patel 30M Faculty of Engineering & Technology, Gurukul Kanngri University Uttarakhand/ Uttaranchal Assistant Professor VBS Poorvanchal University Jaunpur 2004 1 Jul 2011
14 3346 Mr Rameez  Raja 27M University of Kashmir Jammu and Kashmir Research Scholar University of Kashmir 2008  
15 3376 Dr. Sobhan Kumar Sounda 45M

Ramakrishna Mission Residential College (Autonomous)

West Bengal Assistant Professor VIDYASAGAR UNIVERSITY 1991 15 Nov 2007
16 3426 Ms. Deepti  Lohia 28F

Guru Nanak College For Girls

Punjab Assistant Professor Punjab University, Chandigarh 2007  
17 3441 Mr. Pabitra  Debnath 32M St. Xavier's College(Autonomous), Kolkata West Bengal Assistant Professor I.I.T KANPUR 2004  
18 3445 Mr. Brian Savio Dsouza 27M St. Xavier's College Goa Assistant Professor Goa University 2007  
19 3471 Dr. Sujit K Sardar 46M Jadavpur University West Bengal Associate Professor University of Calcutta 1988 6 Jan 2004
20 3497 Ms. Anu  Goyal 23F Amar Shaheed Baba Ajit Singh Jujhar Singh Memorial College Punjab Lecturer Panjab University Chandigarh 2011  

List of  local participants (Delhi/NCR )





Mr. Ashesh Kumar Jharwal

Shivaji College, University of Delhi


Ms. Bhawna Bansal

Miranda House, University of Delhi


Dr. Rashmi Verma

Mata Sundri College for Women, University of Delhi


Ms. Geetan Manchanda

Maitreyi College, University of Delhi


Dr. Devendra Kumar

MMH College, Ghaziabad


Ms. Gunjan Khurana

IP College for Women


Ms. Samridhi Mehta

Hindu College, University of Delhi


Mr. Rajender Kumar

Deshbandhu College, University of Delhi


Mr. Sushil Kumar

Bharati Vidyapeeth College of Engineering


Dr. Kavita Devi

Acharya Narendra Dev College, University of Delhi


Mr. Vivek N Sharma

Dayal Singh College, University of Delhi


Mr. Thakur Prasad Pandey

G B Pant Engineering College


Mr. Dharmendra Yadav

Keshav Mahavidyalaya, University of Delhi


Ms. Neha Agrawal

Kirori Mal College, University of Delhi


Ms. Reema Agarwal

Lady Sri Ram College for Women, University of Delhi


Mr. Rahul Tomar

Shyamlal College, University of Delhi


Ms. Sonali Batra

St. Stephen’s College, University of Delhi


Ms. Ritu Aggarwal

SLC CMI, University of Delhi


Ms Japleen Kaur

ARSD College, University of Delhi


Ms. Tanu Gupta

Janki Devi Memorial College, University of Delhi