AIS Geometric Measure Theory and PDE (2019)

Venue: IIT Madras,  Chennai, Tamil Nadu
Date:  3rd, Jun 2019 to 15th, Jun 2019


School Convener(s)

Name Mythily Ramaswamy T V Anoop
Mailing Address

Post Bag 6503, GKVK post,
Yelahanka, Bangalore 560065

Department of Mathematics
IIT Madras,


 Speakers with their affiliations:

Speakers: Affiliation   Tutors: Affiliation
Mythily Ramaswamy TIFR CAM Ashok Kumar, IIT Madras
Senthil Raani IISER Berhampur Nirjan Biswas,  IIT Madras
Kesavan IMSc Chennai Sayani Bera, IACS Kolkata
Anoop IIT Madras Ujjal Das IMSc Chennai
Sarath IIT Palakkad    



Name of the Speaker


Mythily Ramawamy
Sobolev spaces
  • Distributions:
  • Sobolev spaces:
  • Embeddings, dual spaces and trace

Senthil Rani
IISER Berhampur

Review of basic measure theory

S. Kesavan
IMSc Chennai

Geometric Measure Theory

  • Schwarz Symmetrization
  • Classical Inequalities
  • Measure Theory and Multivariable calculus
T. V. Anoop
IIT Madras
Weak Solutions of Elliptic PDE
Sarath Sasi
IIT Palakkad
Monotonicity Methods

Click here to download complete syllabus

 Time Table

Date Lecture 1
Lecture 2
03/06/2019 M SR M,AK,N SR, SB,U
04/06/2019 M SR M,AK,N SR, SB,U
05/06/2019 M SR M,AK,N SR, SB,U
06/06/2019 M SR M,AK,N SR, SB,U
07/06/2019 M SR M,AK,N SR, SB,U
08/06/2019 M SR A,AK,N SR, SB,U
  Sunday Off
10/06/2019 K A A,U,AK A, U, N
11/06/2019 K A K,U,AK A, U, N
12/06/2019 K A K,U,AK A, AK, N
13/06/2019 K A K,U,AK A, S, N
14/06/2019 K S K,U,AK A, S, N
15/06/2019 K S A,U,AK S,AK,N


Speakers: Tutors:
M- Mythily Ramaswamy AK- Ashok Kumar
SR - Senthil Raani N- Nirjan Biswas
K- Kesavan SB- Sayani Bera
A- Anoop U- Ujjal Das
S- Sarath





List of actual Participants

Sr SID Full Name Gender Affiliation


University/Institute M.Sc./M.A. Year of Passing
Ph.D. Deg
1 24597 Mr Alok Kumar Sahoo Male IIT Hyderabad. phd Pondicherry university 2017  
2 24646 Mr Soumik Ghosh Male Indian Statistical Institute M Math Student Indian Statistical Institute    
3 24661 Mr. Sakil Ahamed Male IIT BOMBAY PhD IIT BOMBAY 2016  
4 24740 Mr. Raman Kumar Male IIT Guwahati PhD Delhi University 2017  
5 24797 Mr. Prasun Roychowdhury Male IISER Pune PhD IIT Kanpur 2017  
6 24813 Mr. Kshitij Kumar Pandey Male IIT Delhi PhD Student IIT Jodhpur 2018  
7 24828 Mr. Kaushik Mohanta Male IIT Kanpur PhD Student University of Calcutta 2015  
8 24861 Mr. Mrityunjoy Ghosh Male IIT Madras PhD Student IIT Guwahati 2018  
9 24877 Mr Firoj Sk Male IIT Kanpur PhD IIT Kanpur 2015  
10 24890 Mr. Souptik Chakraborty Male IIISER Pune PhD IIT BOMBAY 2014  
11 24908 Mr Arpit Babbar Male TIFR CAM Integrated PhD TIFR CAM Awaiting Result  
12 24971 Ms. Ardra A Female IIT Palakkad PhD Student NIT Calicut 2017  
13 24985 Mr. Sajal Halder Male IIT Goa PhD IIT Madras 2017  
14 25022 Ms Anumol Joseph Female IIT Palakkad PhD Cochin University of Science and Technology 2016  
15 25144 Ms. Bhooma Sreedaran Female Anna University PhD University of Madras 2013  
16 25165 Mr. Subhankar Mondal Male IIT Madras PhD IIT Madras 2016  
17 25166 Mr Chiranjeev Kumar Shahu Male IIT MADRAS PhD M.Sc. 2013  
18 25182 Ms Revati Jadhav Female TIFR CAM MSc Student TIFR CAM    
19 25187 Mr Anubrato Bhattacharyya Male TIFR CAM Integrated PhD TIFR CAM Awaiting Result  
20 25260 Mr Devindra Pratap Singh Male IIT Madras PhD IIT Madras 2015  
21 25280 Mr. Ravishankar Kapildev Yadav Male IISER, Pune PhD The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda 2016  
22 25282 Ms Rekha Mallappa Khot Female IIT Bombay PhD Student Savitribai Phule Pune University 2016  
23 25410 Ms. Dhivya Lakshmi Female Anna University PhD Bharathiar University 2017  
24 25457 Mr Sankar S Male Periyar University M.Phil Bharathidasan University 2017  
25 25518 Mr Bidesh Das Male IISER Kolkata 5 Years BS-MS Dual Degree IISER Kolkata Awaiting Result  
26 25549 Mr Chavda Divyesh Vinodbhai Male IIT Madras Ph.D. IIT Kharagpur 2018  
27 25581 Ms. Akasmika Panda Female NIT PhD Utkal University, Bhubaneswar 2016  
28 25592 Mr Ramesh Chandra Sau Male IISc, Bangalore Int. PhD 5th year IISc, Bangalore 2016  
29 25594 Mr. Rahul Biswas Male Indian Institute of Science Ph.D Student Indian Institute of Science 2016  
30 25595 Mr. Sekhar Ghosh Male National Institute Of Technology Rourkela PhD University Of Hyderabad 2014  
31 25624 Mr. V. Jenish Merlin Male Anna University PhD Anna University 2012  
32 25626 Mr. Kamla Kant Mishra Male IIT Madras. PhD University of Allahabad 2014  
33 25689 Mr. Subrata Majumdar Male IISER Kolkata PhD University of Calcutta 2018  
34 25703 Mr Soumyajit Saha Male IIT Bombay PhD Student IIT Kanpur 2014  
35 25743 Mr. Renjith T Male IISc Banglore PhD Student NSS College Ottapalam 2017  
36 25745 Mr. Ravi Shankar Jaiswal Male TIFR CAM Integrated PhD Student TIFR CAM Awaiting Result  
37 25747 Mr. Subrata Boxi Male TIFR-CAM INT PhD      
38 25832 Ms. Nurun Nesha Female IISER Kolkata Integrated Phd Student IISER Kolkata Awaiting Result  
39 25918 Mr. Mrityunjoy Barman Male IIT Guwahati PhD student IIT Guwahati 2017  
40 - Mr. Suvadip Sana Male IIT Madras PhD      


How to reach

  • Reaching IIT Madras
  • The IIT campus is located on the Sardar Patel Road, midway between the Raj Bhavan and Adyar bus terminus and is around 12 km from Chennai Central Railway Station. Other landmarks include the Guindy Snake Park near the IIT main gate and the Central Leather Reasearch Institute (CLRI) campus opposite the IIT campus.
  • If you have light luggage (a bag or an attache) you could consider taking a bus to IIT. The bus stop is just across the road from the Central Railway Station. You could use the subway to cross the road which is perpetually busy. There are direct buses to IIT, which start at the Central Station bus stop. If you take any of them, get down at Gandhi Mandapam, which is at walking distance from the IIT main gate. Otherwise, take any bus to Saidapet and from there, any bus heading for Adyar or Besant Nagar which will drop you right in front of the IIT gate. You could also take any bus to Adyar; there are frequent buses from Adyar Signal to the campus. Once you reach the In gate, there are buses to Gajendra Circle (near the administrative block and Central Library), the academic zone and the hostels (they are around 3.8 km from the main gate!) almost every 30 minutes.

  • From     To     Buses Nos.
    Central Station     Gandhi Mandapam, IIT, Adyar     18B, 19S
    Saidapet     IIT, Besant Nagar     5B, 23C, 47A, 47
    Egmore Station     IIT, Adyar     23C, 23E, 23A, 23G
    Adyar Traffic Signal     IIT     1LSS, 4LSS, 6LSS
  • If you have luggage, an auto-rickshaw or taxi would it would be the most comfortable option. The fare will be about Rs. 120 for an auto-rickshaw and Rs. 250 for a taxi. If you arrive at Egmore Station, you could take buses to IIT, Gandhi Mandapam or Adyar from where there are number of buses to the IIT. Current auto- rickshaw and taxi fares from Egmore are approximately Rs.100 and Rs.200 respectively.